August 31st. The August I rue.

maria š“Æš“‚ƒ
2 min readAug 31, 2024

--

July 31st. I remember prayingā€Šā€”ā€Šbegging for a new month where there is love, love, love. Where there is the absence of fear and the conviction that I am made for aching. Where there will be more rainy days so I can continue to build castles on the dewy grass and dance in heavenā€™s teardrops. A month where I am not hurting, where I am nothing else but held like Iā€™m a vase of your favorite flowers. As if I am the first day of July; the dove thatā€™s white and gentle. For once, I want to be a good person. Allow me to be a good person.

August 1st. I began with hope swelling up in my chest. It was like a riverā€Šā€”ā€Ša flow of sparkles beneath the surface of life. A part of the sun twirling around whatā€™s broken but trying. A petal barely hanging on to what makes it beautiful. The rainy days visited me, some drops rolling down my cheeksā€Šā€”ā€Špast the mole under my eye, boldly near the top of my lips. I was hoping that this month, I shall not ache, I shall not question, I shall not beg. I prayed to be; I prayed to not become. August, remind me why I am special.

August 31st. I am repulsed. Remorseful. Rueful. My year ended. I did nothing but sit in the rain and let it ruin me. I did nothing but cry and listen to the disgust dangling in my heart. I didnā€™t speak. I didnā€™t think. I was more awake than asleep. More tired than relaxed. More hurt and unhealed still. My eyes were burning; I disliked the fire. I was nothing, understood nothing, loved nothing. I was crestfallen. I couldnā€™t concedeā€Šā€”ā€Šnot to the disappointment, not to the lack of surprise. Iā€™m sick of trying to love myself.

September 1st. Will I beg once again?

--

--

maria š“Æš“‚ƒ

Iā€™m doing badly, Iā€™m doing well; whichever you prefer.